Growing Right Along at My Vintage Home

Peony in bloom

Peonies in Bloom

Apple growing

Apples on my first fruit trees

Radish harvest

Radish harvest

Little garden

Little starter garden

The garden that is currently at My Vintage Home is tiny measuring in at 8’x5′ and has a wire fence around it, so I decided to plant some seeds.  Since we are not living there full-time, smaller is better and much easier to maintain.  I have tried growing larger gardens in two different locations and the weeds take over quickly and quite a job to remove going back and forth.

I planted a few tomatoes, pepper, sunflowers and just this last visit added some seeds from blue corn.  The blue corn is ornamental and really neat to add to decorations so I hope they flourish.  There is another location on the property where I planted some pumpkin pie seeds, radish and a few squash.  The radish took off and I was able to harvest some already.

The apple and pear trees will be a new and exciting learning experience for me.  I did spot several small apples, but have not seen any pears as of yet.  I will say that I did not notice any bees buzzing around.  At the Country Home I have several hives and bees are present at all times … the Vintage Home seemed to be lacking and I am sure the fruit trees will fare much better with a few hives nearby.  The hives I will move in the Fall right before the winter weather sets in when the bees are dormant and the numbers are low.

Back at the Country Home I have been busy this week harvesting and canning Garlic Scapes which are a Spring delight and not easy to find.  Check the local farmers’ markets and be sure to add them to your healthy recipes.

Garlic scapes

Leave a comment